News Local

Voting at Southshore Centre on Dec. 3

A map of Barrie's Ward 8.

A map of Barrie's Ward 8.

Barrie Ward 8 byelection voters need to weigh in.


After two days of voting - Saturday, Nov. 24 and Tuesday, Nov. 27 – 682 electors have cast their ballots.

This represents about 11.6% of the eligible voters in Ward 8, approximately 5,860.


Voting opportunities for electors are on Monday, Dec. 3 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., at Southshore Centre, at 205 Lakeshore Dr.

Residents of the IOOF (10, 10A and 20 Brooks St.) can vote at their facility from 10-11 a.m. on Dec. 3.

Identification will be required at the voting locations. Identification must prove not only the identity of the elector, but also their qualifying address.

Electors are encouraged to bring their voter notification card, as having it will speed up the time it takes to vote.

Electors included on the voters’ list for the Ward 8 byelection received their voter notification cards in the mail the week of Nov. 12.

Electors for the Ward 8 byelection are encouraged to check the voters’ list to ensure their name is listed. Electors are able to check on the city’s website ( to see if their name is on the voters’ list or contact the City Clerk’s Office at 705-728-VOTE (8683) during regular office hours, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Special arrangements for Barrie Transit service have been made and the #39 Hurst bus will be detoured to operate on Lakeshore Drive by SouthShore Centre during the byelection, providing two-way transit service along this road.

Transit users who reside in Ward 8 will be able to transfer to the Hurst bus at the downtown Transit Terminal or along the route to get to Southshore. Bus passes have been made available on the voter notification cards.

There are 5,835 eligible electors on the Ward 8 voters’ list. On voting day in 2010, there were 6,307 eligible electors in Ward 8 and voter turnout was 42.35%.

There are 11 candidates in the race — Deborah Clarke-Whitehouse, David Edwards, Yolanda Gallo, Vicki Howe, Ghulam Jilani, Arif Khan, Don MacNeil, Steven Mallon, Mike Ramsay, Colin Wilson, Herb Yetman.

The Ward 8 byelection is necessary because of Jennifer Robinson’s Aug. 1 resignation, due to personal health reasons.

Reader's comments »

By adding a comment on the site, you accept our terms and conditions

Featured Businesses

Go to the Marketplace »