News Local

Voters in city byelection encouraged to cast their ballot early

Bob Bruton

By Bob Bruton, Barrie Examiner

A map of Barrie's Ward 8.

A map of Barrie's Ward 8.

Voting continues Tuesday in Barrie's Ward 8 byelection.

Opportunities for electors are Tuesday, Nov. 27 from 4-8 p.m. and Monday, Dec. 3 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., at SouthShore Centre, at 205 Lakeshore Dr.

Residents of the IOOF (10, 10A and 20 Brooks St.) can vote at their facility Nov. 27 from 9-11 a.m., and 10-11 a.m. on Dec. 3.

An elector may vote on any of the voting days. You do not need to have a reason to vote on one of the earlier days – although it's convenient and avoids line-ups on Dec. 3. Electors are encouraged to vote early.

Identification will be required at the voting location. Identification must prove not only the identity of the elector, but also their qualifying address.

Electors are encouraged to bring their voter notification card to the SouthShore Centre, as having this card will also speed up the time it takes to vote.

Electors included on the voters' list for the Ward 8 byelection received their voter notification cards in the mail the week of Nov. 12.

Electors for the Ward 8 byelection are encouraged to check the voters' list to ensure their name is listed. Electors are able to check on the city’s website ( to see if their name is on the voters’ list or contact the City Clerk's Office at 705-728-VOTE (8683) during regular office hours, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Special arrangements for Barrie Transit service have been made during the voting days and times. The #39 Hurst bus will be detoured to operate on Lakeshore Drive by SouthShore Centre during the three days of the election, providing two-way transit service along this road.

Transit users who reside in Ward 8 will be able to transfer to the Hurst bus at the downtown Transit Terminal or along the route to get to SouthShore. Bus passes have been made available on the voter notification cards.

There are 5,835 eligible electors on the Ward 8 voters' list. On voting day in 2010, there were 6,307 eligible electors in Ward 8 and voter turnout was 42.35%.

There are 11 candidates in the race - Deborah Clarke-Whitehouse, David Edwards,Yolanda Gallo, Vicki Howe, Ghulam Jilani, Arif Khan, Don MacNeil, Steven Mallon, Mike Ramsay, Colin Wilson, Herb Yetman.

The Ward 8 byelection is necessary because of Jennifer Robinson's Aug. 1 resignation, due to personal health reasons.

Reader's comments »

By adding a comment on the site, you accept our terms and conditions

Featured Businesses

Go to the Marketplace »